Rain Dogs : A Storytelling Community

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2 posters

We Are Remembered by the Words We Scribe Upon the Walls

Alkain
    Alkain
    Just Passing Through
    Just Passing Through

We Are Remembered by the Words We Scribe Upon the Walls Empty We Are Remembered by the Words We Scribe Upon the Walls

Post  Alkain Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:49 pm

Howdy folks,

I was never too great at introductions so let me give you the brief of things. I'm 25, I live in Texas where I work in the gaming industry, and I'm one of those tortured artists who fights against being an introvert. Well, more or less, I suppose. I'm no true artist. There are many others who are far more worthy of praise than anything I would write.

I draw heavily from Jeff Somers, William Gibson, and Bernard Cornwell as my writing inspirations. I dabbled a bit with Chuck Palahniuk's writing style but it was a bit too uncouth for me. I realize that was the whole point and I'm not saying I dislike his work buuuut.. It just isn't my writing style. I'm a big fan of collaboration, so if our stories happen to cross paths, then definitely chat me up to discuss it.

I'm not sure what to say about myself, really. I'm a gamer, I have been since the 80s. APB is definitely a great game and the customization only adds to the flair of the game itself. I decided to try for the Rain Dogs because I needed a good social writing project. I haven't written anything in so long that I felt as though I may have lost my ability to express myself. The last time I had a good writing project was back in the early 2000's, with a Matrix Forum RPG called Future of Zion. Good stuff, that was. I'm also a big fan of text based games, like MUDs, MUSHes, MUCKs, etc.